How to delete Instagram, Facebook and other accounts

So you’ve washed your sheets and vacuumed under the couch in the name of spring cleaning. But what about your online mess?

Apps that inspire, stay informed and connected deserve space in your digital realm. But if you haven’t used your Facebook account in years or want to permanently take some time back from Doomscrolling, consider getting rid of some accounts once and for all. Of course, like other services that benefit from you – in this case from your user informationsocial media and other online platforms can make it difficult to sever connections. Here’s a guide to that elusive delete button once you’ve made up your mind.

On Firefox, you can restrict the social media giant tracking your online activity through the Facebook container extension without deleting your Facebook account. Although *gesturing wildly at headlines in recent years*, we don’t blame you if you decide to stop using the app for good. You might even have Your Facebook account deactivated before and found that you can log back in right away. Here’s how to actually delete Facebook from the mobile app:

  • Find the menu icon bottom right.
  • Scroll all the way down.
  • From there go to Settings & Privacy > personal and account information > Account Ownership and Control > Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Choose Deleting an accountthen further account deletion > proceed to account deletion > Deleting an account.
  • Enter your password, press continue and click Deleting an account. Facebook will start deleting your account after 30 days, just be careful not to log back in before then.

How to delete Facebook via your browser:

  • Find the account icon (it looks like an upside down triangle in the top right corner).
  • From there go to Settings & Privacy > the settings > Your Facebook information > Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Choose Deleting an accountthen on to account deletion > Deleting an account > confirm deletion.

Facebook says it can take up to 90 days for everything you’ve posted to be deleted. Also note that after this period, the company may keep copies of your data in “backup storage” to recover in some cases like software bugs and legal issues.

More information from Facebook

So you have decided to close your Instagram account. You might want to rid your digital space of parent company Meta. Maybe you are tired of deleting the app only to reinstall it later. Whatever your reason, here is how to delete your Instagram:

  • Visit https://instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent and log in if you are not already logged in.
  • You will be asked why you want to delete your account. Select an option from the drop down menu.
  • Repeat entering your password.
  • Click on Clear [username].
  • When prompted, confirm that you want to delete your account.
  • You will see a page that says your account will be deleted after one month. You can sign up beforehand if you want to keep your account.

More information from Instagram

Whether you have migrated to another similar social media platform, or just outgrown it, you might be tempted to just delete the Snapchat app from your phone and move on. But you will also want to clean up your data. How to delete your Snapchat account from an iOS app:

  • Click on that profile icon top left, then the Settings icon top right.
  • Scroll all the way down and press Deleting an account.
  • Then enter your password continue. Your account will be deleted in 30 days.

How to delete your Snapchat account from your browser:

More information from Snapchat

Twitter can be a mine of information. It can also allow endless doom scrolling. If you’d rather get your news elsewhere and discuss the latest hot takes with people, here’s how to delete your Twitter account from a browser:

  • Once you are logged in, click more on the left side of your Twitter homepage.
  • Click on Settings & Privacy > her account > Deactivate your account > deactivate.
  • Enter your password and click confirm.

How to delete your Twitter account from the app:

  • Click on the profile icon and then go to Settings and Privacy > her account > deactivate her account > deactivate.
  • Enter your password.

More information from Twitter

Share of Google of the global search market is around 85%. While the tech giant will likely continue to shape our lives, from search to email to our calendars, we can delete inactive or unnecessary Google accounts. That’s how it’s done:

More information from Google

Amazon has had its fair share of controversy, particularly over data collection and like them Retail giant treats its workers. If you’ve decided that easy access and fast deliveries are no longer worth the price, follow these steps to delete your Amazon account:

  • Go to https://www.amazon.com/privacy/data-deletion.
  • Be sure to read which Amazon services you will no longer have access to after deleting your account.
  • Check “Yes, I want to permanently close my Amazon account and delete my data”.
  • blow close my account.
  • Check your text messages or email for a notification from Amazon.
  • Click on that Confirm account closure Shortcut.
  • Enter your password.

More information from Amazon

Payment app Venmo has made it easier to split bills and pay cashless. However, if you have decided to do it in another way, you should delete your account along with your banking information. You must first transfer all funds in your Venmo account to your bank account. Another option: send the money back to the sender. If you have pending transactions, you must address them before you can close your account. Once done, you can delete your Venmo account in your browser as follows:

To close your Venmo account in the app:

  • Click on the bottom right person icon.
  • Go to settings in the top right corner by clicking gear icon.
  • Click on Account > Close Venmo Accountt > continue > confirm.

More information from Venmo

TikTok’s popularity has exploded, surpass the combined ad revenue of Twitter and Snapchat in February. If you’ve tried the app and decided it’s not for you, here’s how you can delete your TikTok account:

  • In the app, click the profile icon bottom right.
  • press the three line icon top right.
  • Click on Settings and Privacy > Manage account > Deleting an account.
  • Follow the instructions.

More information from TikTok

Whether you want follow in the footsteps of Neil Young or already streaming music and podcasts through another service, it’s a good idea to delete your stagnant Spotify account. If you have a subscription, you must cancel it first. Once done, here is how to delete your Spotify account.

More information from Spotify

Because our lives are so online, our digital space can get cluttered with inactive and unnecessary accounts — and forgetting can pose a security risk. While our one-stop shop for online account deletion gets you off to a great start, it’s far from exhaustive. So here’s a bonus tip: Sign up for Firefox Monitor. It alerts you when your information is exposed in security breaches, including on websites where you forgot to provide your information.

Get Firefox

Get the browser that protects what matters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.